Support | Contact | Print Page | Sign In | Join the AFA
Fischer Black Prize
Share |

The Fischer Black Prize

The Fischer Black Prize honors the memory of Fischer Black, formerly a General Partner at Goldman Sachs and Professor of Finance at the University of Chicago (1971-1975) and at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1975-1984).  His seminal research included the development (with Myron Scholes) of the widely applied Black-Scholes Option Pricing Model. The prize was established in 2002 and honors individual financial research. It is awarded for a body of work that best exemplifies the Fischer Black hallmark of developing original research that is relevant to finance practice. The winner must either be under age 40, or under age 45 for a winner who had not been awarded a Ph.D. (or equivalent) by age 35. The prize is awarded biennially at the Association's Annual Meeting.

Fischer Black Prize Winners
Amir Sufi,
University of Chicago, 2017
Yuliy Sannikov,
Princeton University, 2015
Ulrike Malmendier,
University of California, Berkeley, 2013
Xavier Gabaix,
New York University, 2011
Harrison Hong,
Princeton University, 2009
Tobias J. Moskowitz,
University of Chicago, 2007
No winner was selected in 2005
Raghuram G. Rajan,
University of Chicago, 2003


The Association is grateful to those whose contributions made this prize possible:

Founding donation
Norman Mason

Capstone donation
Gifford & Vivian Fong

Peter & Barbara Bernstein
Douglas & Josie Breeden
Michael Brennan
George Constantinides
John & Maria Cox
Darrell Duffie & Denise Savoie
Chi-fu Huang
Hayne Leland
Robert Litzenberger
Andrew & Nancy Lo
Stewart Myers
David Pyle
Stephen & Carol Ross
Eduardo Schwartz
Jack Treynor
Jiang Wang & Jing Luo

American Finance Association

About   |   Cookies   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy   |   Contact Us